Skip to the content


England's Referees heading to European Championships 2014

England's Referees heading to European Championships 2014

England Touch Referees followed in the footsteps of the England players and a record numbers of Expressions of Interest were submitted.

Interest to referee at the 2014 European Touch championships had gained momentum. Alongside the challenge of the England Touch High Performance team selecting players, a daunting task of selections for referees had begun.

With only 8 guaranteed (one referee per team requirement) referee places allocated to England, we are exceptionally lucky to have ended up with 13 England Referees being invited to attend.

With many of our 13 England Referees being in leadership positions within the European Referee team, congratulations on the selection:

- Aubrey Collins

- Stephen Dubreuil

- Shelley Grace

- Shane Hills

- Gareth Hinds

- Matthew Hobbs

- Bruce Lockie

- Sarah Porcelli

- Nick Richardson

- James Shanahan

- Graham Smith

- Ian Syder

- Nicolas Van de Rijt

2014 is the first European Championships to hold a Junior event and it is with special mention that we congratulate junior referee, Jake Hill who has been selected to referee at this event. Alongside him Kathy Van de Rijt has also been invited to referee.

England Touch congratulates all 15 referees on their selection and wishes them full enjoyment for the duration and the best of luck in achieving their goals at this event.

We are England Touch

We are the players. We are the supporters, willing us on. We are the medals, waiting to be won. We are the touchdowns, waiting to be scored. We are the men and women of all ages. We are the talent of today. We are the potential for tomorrow. We are one team. We are England Touch