Skip to the content

2016 European Championships – Training Squads Announced

2016 European Championships – Training Squads Announced

During a hugely successful and competitive #TouchNationals and Open Trials, national selectors were kept very busy watching some incredible Touch talent on display. The Coaches and selectors  along with the England Touch High Performance Team have now finalised their training squads for the 2016 European Touch Championships that will take place next year on July 7th – 10th in Jersey.


2016 European Touch Championships, Jersey. (Training Squads)

Men’s Open 

Mark Aldous

Josh Angell

Shaun Bengsten

Douglas Benzie

Declan Berry

James Botten

Danny Breeze

Ben Creese

Sam Cutler

Matthew Davis

Tom Devereux

Richard Eccles

Nicky Fems

John Hood

Max Howard

Sam Jones

James Knoop

Nicholas McGeever

Gareth McRae

Ben Meakin

Vaughan Meredith

Ed Rawe

Clinton Rowling

Daniel Rowling

Alex Scott

Will Serocold

Kamil Shahabdeen

Paul Smuts

Bobby Taylor

Josh Thompson

Dom Tripp

Rob Ward

Jon Weston-Stanley

Simon Whitnall


Women’s Open 

Sarah Acheson

Sabine Alam

Tracy Andrew

Nicolette Bird

Verity Blyth

Katie Boot

Emily Clews

Rosannah Cormack

Emily Crowe

Adeline Drut

Anna Goddard

Nina Gulati

Carlie Hoffman

Susannah Hudson

Kylie Hutchison

Susan Kidd

Sofia Luxton

Charlotte McFarland

Sadi Meakin

Lucy Neal-Hooke

Morgan Ogle

Jen Palmer

Lucinda Paul

Erica Robertson

Bronte Sykes

Kaitlin Wells

Marnie Wills

Jenny Young


Mixed Open

Bronte Angell

Kathryn Brown-Williams

Meghan Clayton

Leah Cuthbertson

Jade Grantham

Alissa Grant-Walker

Sara Hatton

Alison Hogg

India Perris-Redding

Adam Bailey

Andy Brown

Jack Dickinson

Sam Grant

Steve Hamilton

Sebastian Hill

Clark Hobson

Ross Howard

Josh Ingram

Benita Lee

Jack McHugh

Jordan Melling

Jake Melling

Ryan Miemczyk

Gabriel Pennington

Ben Powell

Matt Smart

Salesi Tuiono


Men’s 30s 

Andrew Beattie

Paul Boston

Nathan Bourke

Stuart Bussell

Jose Dias

Ruez Durrani

Dean Hancock

Glen Jones

Rich King

Laydon Kretzmann

Chris Miles

Dan Mendis

Sindre Myhrhagen

Zhayne Nel

Richard Nienaber

Colin Scott

Will Tenbroeke

David Thornton

James Thurston

Jason Waddell

Daniel Wines

Daf Woodwood


Women’s 27s 

Rachael Atkins

Zoe Aubert

Kara Buckley

Janelle Cridge

Emilie Eve

Victoria Franks

Amanda Grenville-Joans

Kate Hyde

Adele Langlois

Lois Lau

Nicky Marsh

Alexandra Maskell

Rebecca Maxwell

Keisha McLean

Laura Mitchison

Lindsay Morrison

Zoe Parish

Samantha Powles

Crystal Ravenscroft

Lucy Richardson

Louise Rickard

Claire Rylance

Elizabeth Sadler

Tamara Slater

Lucy Snape

Katrina Springer

Karen Thomas

Claire Traynor

Julie Walker

Sharise Wilkinson

Morenike Williams

Suzanne Wilson

Tanya Winson

Denise Yarrow


Senior Mixed

Mel Day

Laura Facey

Cathi Farrer

Sue-Ellen Godde

Sarah Holloway

Joelene Hughes

Jeannie Ivanov

Julia Kang

Tamsin Reed

Sarah Rosenburg

Emily Ryall

Leanne Simm

Sacha Swift-Smith

Jonny Acheson

Richard Adamson

Joel Buchan

Gregg Cropper

Luke Foster

Jason Grace

Jo Hartley

Shaun Hopkins

Tom Humphreys

Travis Kenny

Ollie Sills

Byron Tibbitts

Chris Wall

Martin Wright


Men’s 35s

Alastair Barnes

Clayton Black

Marshall Broome

Semisi Cocker

Matthew Emmerson

Matt Hall

Garth Hannaford

Stuart Holt

Neil Irving

Duncan Jeffery

Bruce Kirby

Ali Knott

Liam Lawton

Peter Lee

Jason Logan

James McLaughlin

Gareth Perry

Christian Prinsloo

Dave Radcliff

Toby Reid

Richard Starky

Jeff Sue

Shane Weston

Erik Williams


Men’s 40s

Paul Ainscough

John Banks

James Barnett

Jeff Bimson

Rob Bowden

Terry Careswell

Martin Chesler

Keith Dunleavy

Adrian Fear

Chris Garland

Mark Georgetti

Julian Gilding

Nathan Joyce

Jon Lovell

Steve Madden

Andrew Matchett

David Merrill

Nick Matenga

Brett Milligan

Soul Phoenix

Gary Povall

Nick Sinfield

John Tate

Mark Thomas

Dave Williamson

Simon Witton


Men’s 45s/50s

Rob Byrne

Jason Cunningham

Neil Davies

David Emburey

Pete Flanagan

Eddie French

Iain Grisewood

Fanos Hira

Simon Ince

John Kearsley

Piers Mitchell

Ian Moody

Daniel Nelki

James Norman

Spencer Nye

Neil Parsons

Salvatore Ponzio

Max Raymond

Andrew Robson

Ian Rowberry

Mark Scott

Lee Thompson

Piula Tu'iono

John Tuite

Andy Verney

Jonathan Charles Whitehead

Ian Wills

Mick Wittingham

Giles Stuart Yorke-brooks


Congratulations to those players selected into the initial training squads. This is the start of an incredible journey and the European Championships is yours and your team’s chance to achieve something special that only a few have achieved, so take this opportunity and give it everything you’ve got.

Commiserations to those who missed out. The standard was exceptionally high this year and the choices that had to be made were incredibly difficult.

As part of the growth of Touch in this country England Touch are continuing to expand the game in all areas and over the next year exciting plans are afoot to grow our existing National Touch Series (NTS) and ‘Challenge Touch Series’ (CTS), promote further the development of Touch competitions with the ever growing ‘Development Touch Series’ (DTS), and hold a series of Development Days with coaching from qualified England Touch coaches. We will also see the formalised introduction of the University Touch Series (UTS) in the 2015/16 season too.

Keep an eye on the England Touch website for further information on these.



We are England Touch

We are the players. We are the supporters, willing us on. We are the medals, waiting to be won. We are the touchdowns, waiting to be scored. We are the men and women of all ages. We are the talent of today. We are the potential for tomorrow. We are one team. We are England Touch