England Scholars training squads announced

The initial training groups have been chosen for the England Scholars Men’s and Women’s Open squads that will head to France for the 2017 EFT Championship Permit tournament.

Players have been chosen from a number of English universities, including Bath, Bristol, Exeter, Oxford, Loughborough and Southampton. The Scholars will be taking on teams from across Europe at Fontenay-le-Compte, near La Rochelle, including France, the Netherlands, Germany and Jersey, to name just four.

England Touch is the only association to be sending a universities team to this competition, and it is a superb opportunity to both develop the pathway from the University Touch Series into senior Open competition and showcase the work that is being done to increase the player pool at university level in England.

The teams will be run by Harry Grocott and Mark Aldous.

Men’s Open Squad
Ewan Armstrong, Ryan Atwood, Declan Berry, Bailey Carvalho, Matthew Clark, Nye Davis, Joshua Doran, Max Eddington Rooley, Prentice Everett, Tomos Hardiman, Nick Hodson, Tasman Hook, Ollie Lee, Luke Milsom, Miles Partridge, Daniel Pease-Watkin, Bill Primarolo, Tom Slater, Matt Venner, James Waldron
Women’s Open Squad
Sophie Arbuthnott, Jess Averbeck, Anna Bools, Emily Cameron, Abi Caple, Victoria Chiu, Eden Coates, Eleana Panayotou Ennes, Caitlin Evison, Olivia Gardner, Emily Haeger, Rianne Hopkins, Ella Major, Emily Moore, Kai Xuan Ong, Meghan Pemberton, Charlotte Robinson, Anikka Rosales, Jade Traynor, Jessica Whitehead